Powered Parachute?

Tomo

All this talk lately about a PPC has sparked me to look into it a bit....

What's involved in Training to fly them? Costs involved etc? Any instructors in the SE Qld area?

Also, I could easily build one myself... what is the requirements? Do they need to be certified designs? Etc...

Here's your chance to shine PPC drivers! Tell us what you know.... thanks :) 012_thumb_up.gif.cb3bc51429685855e5e23c55d661406e.gif

Google it Tomo, you'll find the clubs.

The wind really seems to knock them around, and the more I studied them the more incidents I read about, a lot just getting tangled up on take off.

Some real spits on the forums

Tomo, you're active with all limbs attached and in working order, perhaps consider a powered paraglider, the wing packs up into a rucksack and the engine/propshroud /harness unit will fit into your ute - about as portable an aircraft as you'll ever see. You have access to conventional aircraft if you want to take a passenger along, keep this for that quick flip before work or to drag along on holiday. I flew one early days when the guys were experimenting, an absolute hoot. There are plans available for putting your own together or the new Yuneec electric model looks really interesting, if a little more exy. Geez I'll talk myself into it again at this rate, I've been eyeing the dunes on Moreton in any event.

http://www.skytribe.co.za/

http://www.kangook.com/

Check these out Tomo... and there are plenty of others available in Australia if you do a google search. I have been Paragliding once at Rainbow Beach and it was brilliant. A Paragliding license would cost about $2000... A PPG about $10k... add another $1000 to learn to fly the power version and you are away.

If I lived closer to Rainbow Beach I would definately be Paragliding... We have a great flying sight just inland here at Eungela but apparently its not for beginners.

Guest davidh10