L2 Maintainers Liability Insurance?

Mick

I am curious what sort of $$$ of coverage other L2's are carrying? Who are you getting your coverage with & what is it costing you?

If anyone is not comfortable with sharing this info with the world I would appreciate a personal message. I am about to look into this for myself.

Thanks.

mick an l2 that does not have coverage and works on aircraft he can kiss his you now what good bye

That's why I am asking before I do anything on my own. I used to work as an employee doing L2 work, so it was the boss' butt on the line not mine.

mick an l2 that does not have coverage and works on aircraft he can kiss his you now what good byeneil

ps cant elabourate

I was under the impression that an l2 is not the responsible person, the pilot is so after an l2 has work on your plane it's your responsibility to check his work and accept it, that being the case an l2 should only need basic public liability insurance which is not too expensive. This is how it appears to me but I could be wrong.

I was under the impression that an l2 is not the responsible person, the pilot is so after an l2 has work on your plane it's your responsibility to check his work and accept it, that being the case an l2 should only need basic public liability insurance which is not too expensive. This is how it appears to me but I could be wrong.

The L2 has a duty of care to carry out work to the current cutting edge standards of professionalism and safety, and not be negligent either knowingly or unknowingly in any way.

So an interrupting phone call, followed by "Where was I" followed by an unwired nut etc exposes you.

A regular one through the years is to repaint the aircraft, but forget to take the tape off the breathers as obvious as that sounds.

So I'd certainly be recommending substantial public liability insurance cover.