Murphy Rebel?

NT5224

Hi folks.

Me again. What do people think of the Murphy Rebel? Its not a type that I had previously heard of, but it seems to tick all the boxes... metal construction, rugged bush design, STOL, good lift capacity.

Also, would I face any particular problems getting somebody to maintain a Rotec radial? They aren't that common and so I'm wondering about parts availability and service costs as compared other engines such as the trusty Rotax.. What is the Rotec reputation like as an aviation engine? For some reason I think radials may be a little more tempremental than more regular engine designs...

Cheers

Alan

I have no experience with them, but it should be fine for parts and service. They are made here in Australia, and given the price of a rotax rebuild, I would be surprised if they were anything as expensive to fix or rebuild.

• Like 1

I have no experience with them, but it should be fine for parts and service. They are made here in Australia, and given the price of a rotax rebuild, I would be surprised if they were anything as expensive to fix or rebuild.

Hi folks.Me again. What do people think of the Murphy Rebel? Its not a type that I had previously heard of, but it seems to tick all the boxes... metal construction, rugged bush design, STOL, good lift capacity.

Also, would I face any particular problems getting somebody to maintain a Rotec radial? They aren't that common and so I'm wondering about parts availability and service costs as compared other engines such as the trusty Rotax.. What is the Rotec reputation like as an aviation engine? For some reason I think radials may be a little more tempremental than more regular engine designs...

Cheers

Alan