Fuel pumps

Lyndon

I'm new to this but I have a mechanical background. I understand why we have a back up pump. One electric and and mechanical. The electrical backing up the mechanical. I'm building a Savannah. I'm freshening up a 912 uls with 1740 hrs on it. I have priced a new mechanical pump. Outrageous. Why not fit an electric pump. Separate circuit that runs 100 %. This will easily do 2000 hrs. I have a back up. Chances of both failing are no more than electric and mechanical. Engine looses charge rate I'm guessing after shutting down excess power the battery will run it for at least 30 to 60 mins. Battery dies then as long as the engine is running it has power. I'm guessing the efi engine that Rotax make does not have a mechanical pump ???. Like I say I'm new to this and appreciate any input.

Lyndon

From experience, if the cabin fills with smoke from an electrical fire and you hit the master switch to try and stop the smoke you might wish for a mechanical pump to keep the fan going.

Yes I get that. Cut all electrical power and hope it stops burning. All being well the engine keeps running as it produces its own power. But on a redundant loom is your back up pump. It still pumps ???

If the backup pump is the problem what then? And I would need to go to the circuits to check but if you turn off the master then the charge circuit may not continue to work. A master switch by its very nature is designed to kill all electrical power so there is not much point having a master switch which still allows things to run. In my situation it was the auxiliary fuel pump that caused the fire, what them?