Installing BRS parachute on second-hand SavXL

TangoDelta

Hello Everyone,

New pilot here, and first post in this forum that i have found is full of great information!

I'm in the process of buying a Savannah XL, it has a lot of equipments already set up on top of the standard gauges (MGL Autopilot, transponder, long range tanks).
But it doesn't have a BRS...

previous company owning and operating it had certified mechanics, pilot was a professional...

Be that as it may, as a very green but sensible pilot, i would obviously prefer the safety backup of having a parachute in case anything goes wrong. and if I didn't, my wife definitely does.

Here comes the questions:

- has anyone fitted Parachute after the facts on a Savannah?
- How complicated is it? I am not an engineer/mechanic.. i've never done this kind of thing before. i will be able to get some help from other pilots with more experience at the club, but i don't want to rely too heavily on their time and availability... i will definitely ask them to check my work, and if i need a hand taking a wing off, i wont have any problem asking for help obviously.

- I was told the wings would have to go off to attach the chute cables to the frame... i read somewhere here that it wasn't difficult on Savannah and just took 30min... when putting them back in place is it quite clear and easy to see that they are back in right and safe to fly? (no hidden things one could do wrong that would mess up the entire setup and risk integrity of the plane?)

- wondering if the autopilot system might not make it more complicated, as also located in the same area of the plane..

I do think my above questions might just be me overworrying on the topic, but i'd rather hear someone say so, than not ask it ^^

Thanks for the time everyone !

Welcome to the forum, TangoDelta. I looked up your home city on Google Earth. Looks nice.

Are you permitted to fly out of the International Airport? I can’t see any other airstrips near your city.