Dairy Farmers

DKM1

Hi how many members are dairy farmers out their. Got my first milk cheque for the season yesterday and got a hole $0.23 cents a litre after the factory take out their cut.

At this rate I'll never get a new set of wings are eat.

049_sad.gif.af5e5c0993af131d9c5bfe880fbbc2a0.gif Daniel

It's good, but disappointing, to get grass roots info like this Daniel.

Why don't the processors & supermarket chains just buy your property, stock & equipment & pay you guys an hourly rate x 24 x 7. You might even be better off.

Regards, Decca.

I'm with you guys.

Daniel.

I bet you were getting more before the industry was de regulated.

I gave it away in 1961, when I left the UK. We were getting 16 pence a gallon then and wages were the equivalent of $25 a week That would equate to about $155 going into wages. Who would work for that 7 days a week. Not me, better to become a pilot.

Hi Daniel,

I'm a dairy farmer.

Luckily my decision to learn to fly and purchase my trike coincided with better times in the industry.

It sure is tough going to work each day knowing that every day you are getting further and further behind financially. The only way I can justify it is by taking a long term view, the problem is you don't know until several years later whether your efforts where worth it or not.

The milk price would be much easier to manage if it would just rain occasionally, not a problem your having down there on the mainland according to Querty.

Getting an interest off the farm (flying) has been a revelation for me, it makes a lot of problems seem much smaller.

Who do you supply ? We are Murray Goulburn

Regards Bill

Hi Bill

We supply to Fonterra and yes at least the weather is on our side at the moment, well hope it stays that way. Haven't been flying for a while, but it is a great outlet to just switch off relax and focus on being airborne:thumb_up:

Regards Daniel

P.S hope your have good season