Savannah John just landed.... overheated

jaybee258

Hi Guys

I'm new to this web site and it seems like a source of fascinating reading and useful information. I ended up here because I was trolling the internet for ideas for our Savannah. Being joint owned, it is not that easy to just dive in and make improvements to the plane, but this one has been bothering me for a while. We have a Jab 2200 powered Savannah VG and it has always had a tendency to overheat, as I think most of them do. I think the problem can be solved, but it is probably not the best place to post this question in this forum, so I will do that too elsewhere.

The welcome bit.. I have shared ownership of a Jab 2200 powered Savannah VG 450kg microlight. Based in the UK in Yorkshire. We bought it at 11 hrs on the clock, it is now 500 with no major problems. Anybody else with a Savannah in the UK?

I have been qualified about 4 years now and touched Scotland, Cornwall, Scillys, Lundy and a couple of trips to France and the Alps.... I don't do bacon buttie runs. I don't do big airfields and radio fuss. Blind calls are my limit

I love the guy who is building a Savannah in his lounge. Well done that man, and it is a flat too!

Savannah John

Hi John and welcome. I'm a relative newbie here, but the sun comes up in NZ before Oz, so I'm first off the blocks.

I'm currently building a Savannah S, and this site is a goldmine of information, pics and live help.

You will find a huge amount of solid user info on Jab engines here too.

You certainly sound like you travel.......you'll fit right in....)

• Like 1

Thanks DrZoos

Lots of interesting stuff there. I will measure air pressure each side of the oil cooler to see if there is any flow of air. Also air temperatures at the same points. I do not think there are many Jab 2200s in Savannahs to learn from

Good thoughts

I need to contact the BMAA too to see if there are any Mods approved to improve oil cooling