RPC to RPL Conversion - Best place around Brisbane?

Not that much to do. Send the form off to CAsA (61-1RTX), pay your 4 bits, and wait. Once that is done, you'll need a GA flight review to 'activate' your RPL. CAsA will issue it on the basis of your RPC, but you can't use it as you won't have done an AFR within the previous 2 years.. 

Hopefully the school at which you did your RPC has GA aircraft available, or you might find whatever school you pick for your flight review wanting to 'train' you in GA aircraft handling. I avoided that by pointing out that yes, I did have the RPC, but it wasn't a bare-bones issue, I had been flying RAAus for many years beforehand and had an RV-9 that I flew but if you don't have that, you might need to bite the bullet and do a few hours in a C150 or something.

• Agree 1

You will most likely need to fill out an Engineering document for GA aircraft that you will be flying/tested on.. 

https://www.casa.gov.au/files/single-engine-piston-aeroplane-endorsement-and-questionnaire 

and most likely your flight test will have these components:

https://www.casa.gov.au/casa-form/form-61-1486-recreational-pilot-licence-aeroplane

However, the best place to ask is flying school.

Cheers

Hi FlyAdventure.

As KRAviator said, its pretty straight forwards.... but nobody here has mentioned the ASIC or the bizarre  english language test  speaking on the telephone with a machine..

Alan

One more thought. If you intend to ultimately fly cross country buthavent yet done nav endorsement, consider doing it before applying for an RPL. Im guessing its much cheaper to do RAA than through CASA system.

Alan

16 minutes ago, NT5224 said:

One more thought. If you intend to ultimately fly cross country buthavent yet done nav endorsement, consider doing it before applying for an RPL. Im guessing its much cheaper to do RAA than through CASA system.

Alan

It is indeed.