Contemplating a Scratch Build ch601

So im thinking about scratch building a plane. Most likely the older ch601hd, or hds but Ill have to lie about its stall speed, and i dont particularly want to start doing that, so for the moment its the hd (or something similar to it).

Instead of just asking YOU a series of questions I more or less want the experienced people out there to ask ME the questions regarding my decision. It might sound silly but the idea is to bring out any key points I might have overlooked regarding scratch building. For example;

You might ask "What technical and metal work experiance to have?"

To which I would reply "High school design and tech, a mig/oxy welders ticket, Mechanic by trade in cars, trucks and plant machinery, a half completed adv diploma in Mech engineering, plus many years buggerising around modifying cars, motorbikes and boats."

You might ask "Why are you choosing a Zenith? What about a <insert product here>?"

To which I would reply "Well, there are plenty of zeniths flying around, their website it easially the most comprehensive display of what they have to offer. Bar the wings ALLEDGEDLY falling off a particular model their reputation is very good. There are plenty of 3rd party websites dedicated to their product. Please send me the link to <insert product here>'s website so I can make a rational, practical and totaly non-emotional comparison"

You might ask "Why do you want to build a plane?"

To which I would reply "Because I enjoy a challenge and I enjoy torturing myself. Because I DONT enjoy sitting down and watching Dancing with the Stars night after night with my girlfreind when I could be in the shed. Because I enjoy throwing tantrums and spanners at the wall or other inanimate objects when things go wrong. Because I need something to keep me occupied. Because I like building stuff. Because I LIKE flying. Because It would simply be the most AWESOME thing ever!"