Human Factors

Hi Guys

I am studying for my RAA exam - Human Factors. All I have is my Jim Davis book. It is a tremendous reference and was fine for my BAK but not sure whether it is good enough for Human Factors. Any suggestions, I hear the exam has changed recently so I need to be studying the most up to date info.

Cheers

Puddles

Puddles,

I used the Dyson Holland HPL book, found it was pretty spot on for the exam and easy to read.

BTW - If you get the question on heart disease, even though all the options given are true, they all contribute, just remember that smoking is the root of all evil regarding heart disease 037_yikes.gif.f44636559f7f2c4c52637b7ff2322907.gifstretcher.gif.b5405e56385022b0c281bce09d6ac829.gif

Phil

Jim's book does have some great HF stuff in it, I used it and some other information on the net I was given and I passed my exam easily.

Have some knowledge on when you can go flying after diving also.

The fact that they keep changing the terms used in a human factors courses from time to time is a significant cause of confusion. Is that not a human factor too?

There was a good oportunity to do something quite worthwhile here. have we done it well?... NO!.. We've barely scratched the surface. Nev

• Like 1

FH and The Tourist

I agree with both of you, and would go as far as putting three deaths this year down to HF.

CASA collected the statistics which highlighted the HF issue, then botched the training and management.

One mistake, I think, was to widen the subject to include issues such as the effect of alcohol, recent diving etc - that should have been a separate subject.

Then we would have been left with the pure psychological reasons we:

• Leave the gust lock in for takeoff, whether we have 50 hours up or are flying a coporate jet

• Look around, but not in the direction of incoming aircraft

• Go through the check ritual, but don't notice what each gauge is telling us

• Call without the mic button