MiniMax

Just Contemplating a build (long term thing)

Looking at the Minimax Range

http://www.teammini-max.com/

Free plans ????

Wondering if theirs can be scratch built in Australia (not interested in a Kit) (material availability etc)

Which of there aircraft's can be registered here as what?

Complete newbie as you may be able to tell

• Like 1

I'm pretty certain that all of them will fit into our CAO 95:10 issue 5 category for single seat ultralights with MTOW 300kg and wing loading less than 10kg/sq m. My favourite is the Himax and I've heard many reports from people who have built them, according to them they are simple to build and fly without any nasty vices.

A friend of mine owned a Himax and was building a second one, requires a level of wood working skill and build accuracy. A reasonable selection of wood work tools required including probably a thicknesser etc if sourcing your own timber and need to cut down to the very small section timber required, and a nice dry workshop or garage.

Total cost with all new materials, instruments, engine and hand held radio about $20k, cost dependant on sourcing timber and misc items such as wheels etc which would make it cheaper. Trouble is a near $20 k cost to build an aircraft that is likely worth about $10k to sell with a couple of years use.

The owner described the Highmax flight characteristics as "lively" and no doubt needs good tail wheel skills if the breeze gets up.

The blue AeroMax does look cool and fun for a summer day