Centre of gravity

David Gillieson

Greetings! I'm fairly new to all of this, and have fitted a new 3 blade prop to my Savannah recently. Previously it had a 4 blade Brolga prop. I've noticed that the plane now tends to be a little nose heavy and less sensitive to trim adjustment. My battery is mounted inside the small rear door and I wondered about putting some additional weight there to shift the C of G back a bit. Does anyone have any advice?

Many thanks,

Dave

If you hang a few goodies on the front end you have to hang a bit of lead in the tail. With no goodies on the front end you might be better to drain the tanks and redo your weight and balance and see if in fact you need it. Where is Mr Kyle when we need him?

Greetings! I'm fairly new to all of this, and have fitted a new 3 blade prop to my Savannah recently. Previously it had a 4 blade Brolga prop. I've noticed that the plane now tends to be a little nose heavy and less sensitive to trim adjustment. My battery is mounted inside the small rear door and I wondered about putting some additional weight there to shift the C of G back a bit. Does anyone have any advice?Many thanks,

Dave

A heavy duty battery may help. But going from a 4 blade prop to a 3 blade prop (ceterus parabusa), shouldn't the nose be a bit lighter rather than heavier?

072_teacher.gif.7912536ad0b89695f6408008328df571.gif Perhaps a proper W & B check is in order??

It would seem timely to remind everyone that the aircraft log book has a section which should be kept up to date regarding weight and balance changes. The data from the original weighing in order to gain a CofA becomes the benchmark. Every time you make a modification the weight increase or decrease + datum should be recorded in the logbook giving you a clear understanding of the current CofG. If you do not understand this, then make it a priority to sit down with someone who does, in order to accurately record weight and balance changes as they occur.