GoPro!

Hey Guys!!

I'm the proud new owner of a GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition! I want to set this up in the cockpit and make some videos (like a Video Blog because im not really good at normal blogging! lol ) But i want to record sound from the intercom/headset has anyone used something like this ?

http://shop.pilotcommunications.com.au/item.mibiznez?id=34

Also if anyone has tips or tricks for great video from the gopro I would love to hear it!

Camo

• Like 1

I tried a similar cable which will record the radio/intercom if that is all you want but it was just too quiet for my liking. I ended up just buying a cheap lapel microphone off eBay and just put it inside my headset . This way it recorded the radio and also engine noise etc. so you record everything you hear.

Hey Guys!!Also if anyone has tips or tricks for great video from the gopro I would love to hear it!

Camo

Camo:

I've been usin a GoPro3 for a bit now and found out a few things.

With the camera in full HD mode (1920X1080) the view angle is narrower than in normal HD (720X576 ??)

When the camera is in full HD it is more susceptible to rolling shutter distortion (jelly-vision) which is almost impossible to eliminate. It also distorts the prop more.

Using wifi to control the Hero3 shortens the battery life a bit.

The GoPro cameras have an odd file naming system. The camera automatically splits long recordings up and the naming system doesn't give sequential access under the windows sorting.

When you head out to the airfield, leave the camera case open in the car and the air-con on. Then just before you get out of the car, close the case and don't open it until after the flight. This will dry the camera and case out and help prevent the dreadded fogged lens.