Most efficient rpm?

Lior

Hello, Drifterites. A question if I may.

I'm still a bit new to the Drifter 582 flying business, and have noticed that fuel calculations change dramatically with the added weight of a passenger, hilly terrain and winds, even on "there and back" flights. My Drifter is a Maxair model put together in 1994.

So what is the best cruising rpm to conserve fuel and maximize range assuming one is in operating limits? I can stay up to enjoy the view at 4700 rpm/ 50 mph IAS and take on Middle Eastern headwinds at 5200 rpm / 60 mph IAS, but still don't know how to max my range on 60 liters. A pleasure flight over Nazareth during the weekend nearly would have my Drifter into a glider after 2 hours 40 minutes had I not monitored fuel levels carefully. Landed with a modest reserve after that experience. Was hoping to get 15 liters an hour :( One theory that I had was that increased angle of attack in a fully laden Drifter with its fat ultralight camber results in a dramatic increase in induced drag compared to when flying solo. I'm no expert yet but I don't intend to stop learning any time soon.

Helpful tips will be welcome.

Can't speak for the others, but in the last Drifter I spent much time in, cruise was around 65 kts at 5400 rpm and around 15 litres per hour with two on board. What are the temps and altitudes like where you're flying, meaning is it hot and/or high?

Last time I flew I calculated a density altitude at field level of 2500 feet, and I was flying at a mean density altitude of 4500 feet (e.g. 2000 feet ASL). Few are the days in which the temperature here is that of a standard atmosphere, but my field's altitude is 200 feet ASL. M16A1, Your fuel burn sounds good!

Obscure general answer, but the most volumetrically fuel efficient engine RPM is that at which the peak torque is developed. This is the point at which it will produce the most power for the least fuel consumption.