Info on Foxbat sought

Guest SrPilot

Guest SrPilot

If you own, have owned, or have even flown a Foxbat, I would like info on your experience with and assessment of the airplane. I am interested in both flying and maintenance info. According to the U.S. FAA database, there are only 10 Foxbats in the U.S.A., and at least one of them is listed as non-operational. Three of the nearest aircraft are on floats, so I have to gather info from afar. Last time I was in Australia, instead of an out-and-back, I just did an around the world flight. It wasn't that much further and the airfare was right. Thus, I truly am seeking info from afar. Thanks! SrPilot

• Replies 85
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Firstly, welcome to the forum. I have a gliding background and have only had one power lesson in a Foxbat so I'm no expert.

In short I was very impressed with the climb rate two up, coordination of the controls good and well weighted, steep turns, stalls and side slips were uneventful. A glide approach on landing was very controllable in about 15 knots with about 5 knots crosswind component. I found the glide ratio much better than I anticipated.

A lovely aircraft to learn on and I daresay own, with great visibility. Over to the experts.

Terry

• Like 1

You were asking about the tundra tyres. Here's a pic. Don't get the impression they're massive, but I recon perfect for the aircraft size.

Use the search function on this forum. Many threads about the Foxbat.

20150118_163557.jpg.a9679a78aab749c87d1dc8f09a5b57e1.jpg

• Like 1

Guest SrPilot
There's another thread already going, might be better to link to. Nev

Thanks. Where might that other thread be? The problem with being a newbie is learning to navigate effectively. But I'll learn. Maybe.

SrPilot

Welcome to the forum.

The foxbat is a wonderful little 2 seat LSA airplane.

The A22LS comes in at around 320 to 330 kgs empty and an mtow of 600 kgs.