Resizing pictures

old man emu

If you want to attach a picture to your posts, but the file size exceeds the allowable size for this site, you can use this program: http://imageresizer.codeplex.com/ to resize it so that it can be uploaded.

Once the program is installed, all you have to do is on the image. A dialogue box will come up. Look down the list and click on "Resize picures" to open the program. Select the size you want the new file to be. I use the Medium setting. I have checked only the 'Ignore picture rotation' box. Don't check the "Replace the originals" box, or you'll be left with only the modified file.

The program will produce a new file with the same name as the original, but with the extra detail (Medium) included. So, the file, myplane.jpg will be resized and named myplane(medium).jpg

I've been using this program for a couple of years and the download has not set off alarm bells with my malware and virus protection.

OME

• Informative 2

Windows Paint will do the job.

1. Open image in Paint.

2. Click on "Resize".

3. Select "Pixels".

4. Enter new width in pixels. Ensure "Maintain Aspect Ratio" is checked.

5. Click "OK".

6. Save file with new name.

1222006190_resizingwithpaint.jpg.eeef855d397c9d57bcc1bcfdd7a9da92.jpg

If you want to attach a picture to your posts, but the file size exceeds the allowable size for this site, you can use this program: http://imageresizer.codeplex.com/ to resize it so that it can be uploaded.Once the program is installed, all you have to do is <right click> on the image. A dialogue box will come up. Look down the list and click on "Resize picures" to open the program. Select the size you want the new file to be. I use the Medium setting. I have checked only the 'Ignore picture rotation' box. Don't check the "Replace the originals" box, or you'll be left with only the modified file.