Yaw is no Yawning Matter

Very good article in AOPAA's Australian Pilot magazine this month by Rob Knight.

For nearly 45 years I have been teaching effects of controls, and for 15 years assessing other pilot's aircraft handling skills. During this time I have recognised that too many pilots find flying in a straight line is a difficult manoeuvre.

• Agree 1

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Rudder is the most useful control in turbulence and we teach its' use for this very early in ab initio training. It makes keeping wings level on approach a heap easier to achieve and allows the student to focus on their aiming point without 'snaking' all over the place.

Couldn't agree more with his sentiments. Wish he'd summarised the article though, so the take-home message was emphasised.

happy days,

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

• 2 weeks later...
Rudder is the most useful control in turbulence .......,,,,It makes keeping wings level on approach a heap easier to achieve and allows the student to focus on their aiming point without 'snaking' all over the place.

Depends what you're flying! I have to take that cassette out and tuck it safely out of sight & mind in the bottom drawer when I go to work! ;)

• Agree 1
  • Haha 1

You've got yaw dampers to do it for you, so you are spoilt. The clever CM2 that snapped the rudder off an Airbus didn't understand the inertia forces involved with yawing a big aircraft. Using rudder is very important but like all things must be understood. Further effect of rudder is something that should be fully understood, including flying with misrigged airframe or out of balanced rudder use. Nev

• Agree 1

• 3 weeks later...