New old pilot

Hi Steve here, just landed here by following a link - like many do I suspect. I'm a licensed pilot, but have not flown for about 25 years.

I got my PPL in 1982 flying out of Jandakot in WA, and over the next few years added endorsements for things like constant-speed prop and retractable gear, tailwheel, and night VFR. The idea of aircraft ownership was always in the back of the mind, and in 1990 we became able to consider it after selling a share in a piece of land in the country that we had almost forgotten about. I had always been very interested in the idea of building my own aircraft, but when I sat down and thought seriously about it, I decided that I'd rather be out flying than building for the next 3, 4, 5 or however many more years. So after looking around a bit, we ended up buying a lovely old (1967) Beechcraft Debonair - basically a 4-seat version of the Bonanza. Beautiful to fly with very benign and forgiving handling, and almost landed itself. It was a far better aircraft than I ever imagined owning - fast (145Kt cruise), comfortable for 4, and able to carry almost anything you could push though the baggage door. It was like sitting back and driving a big old Cadillac around.