RA-Aus Cert and RPL/PPL

alexbrown2005

Hi guys,

I'm not sure if this is the right place to post this (and I'm sure this has also been done to oblivion). I'm planning on going to CPL in the future, and the reason I'm training via RA-Aus is because I'm a poor university student. I didn't plan on going to CPL when I started, but, hey I love flying too much and I want to do it for a career.

Does anyone know if RA-Aus Certificate holders HAVE to go via the new RPL pathway when they convert to PPL, or can they do it the old way by getting their RA-Aus Navigation endorsement, applying for a CASA SPL (& ASIC) then doing the last bit of training in a 172?

I just don't see a need to do more training and a flight review, to prove to an ATO what I already know. As for the red tape - if I can go the old way, I can simply apply for an SPL and an ASIC *now* so that I have it at the ready when I do convert to a PPL.

Again, sorry if this has been done to death, but I'm still terribly confused and the CASA website ain't helpin'!

Cheers.

• Like 1

The RPL has replaced the SPL and the old GFPT.So in theory you can get your RAAus cert, then convert to RPL and continue your training towards CPL in GA.

Thanks. So once I get my Pilot Cert., I can convert to an RPL and do Nav training to PPL from there, theoretically?

There's no requirement to have an RPL before getting a PPL. In fact, CASA website says all you need is an ARN to go all the way up to PPL.

Will you be progressing to PPL with the same flying school you've done your RAAus with ? .........if not, you might end up having to redo a written test or something.

• Agree 2

make sure your BAK test is logged in your logbook - you will need to show that to the testing admin when you take your PPL written. I did have to take the Flight Radio Operator Licence test as well as an English comprehension oral thing with the CFI, but that was it - no repeats from RAAus. Do as much as you can RAAus, its cheaper!

• Like 1
  • Agree 1