hydraulic lifter down on power

Bruce Tuncks

There is a Jabiru at our club which has good compressions on turnover, but it only develops about 2700 static RPM. The owner says it is well down on power.

Could it be that one or more hydraulic lifters are not allowing the valves to open properly?

What should I do to check this engine out? Any suggestions will be gratefully accepted, as I have no experience with hydraulic lifters. My starting point is that they were a mistake, but this is no help to the owner.

...Bruce

There is a Jabiru at our club which has good compressions on turnover, but it only develops about 2700 static RPM. The owner says it is well down on power.Could it be that one or more hydraulic lifters are not allowing the valves to open properly?

What should I do to check this engine out? Any suggestions will be gratefully accepted, as I have no experience with hydraulic lifters. My starting point is that they were a mistake, but this is no help to the owner.

...Bruce

Do a leak down Bruce , that should give you some idea where to start . I don't suppose he has changed the prop lately by any chance ?

Bob

If leak downs, plugs, rotor caps and leads have not been checked then that's the first port of call! The rotors on these like to come unstuck and wobble on the shaft, also they tend to corrode fast. If the basics have been done and it is passing the checks then you could indeed have a dodgy lifter, you can check lift at the rocker arm itself I cant remember the figure. All it takes is a minute bit of crap stuck in the plunger valve and the lifters go soft and don't provide full lift, effecting cam duration as well.