Re fuelling

benjam

Afternoon all.

I am planning the ferry of my newly purchased aircraft. Although experienced in the aviation industry, I am an inexperienced LSA pilot.

I have some questions for the experts.

Mixing Mogas and Avgas. It seems that it achievable, but the Rotax guide says Avgas 100LL is not suitable. Is this what other operators have found? Do country strips have a Mogas capability these days? The ERSA would suggest not.

Do others just fill up their Rotax 912 ULS aircraft with Avgas and head off? if yes, any downsides to this practise? Or do I just change the oil after the 12-13 hour ferry?

Cheers

Ben

I guess you are doing this already, or planning to do so, but ERSA lists the aerodromes phone numbers, I'd call them to see what your options are at that location. They may be able to arrange something for you, if they don't stock it.

I'm keen to see some of the replies to your thread, as I am also in the market to purchase a plane.

I heard somewhere that if you do use AVGAS on such an engine, it may be an idea to do your services every 25hrs instead of 50hrs, something about your oil consumption going up when you

Tony.

No problems running rotax on avgas for what you are planning. Rotax recommend oil change every 25 when using avgas

So the Avgas 100LL will work with no drama? Are there a variety of avgas Lead levels out there?

Hey Ben

A nose wheel version? Yes, they are a great aircraft to fly. I'd love to continue to fly it, but it looks like I may have a similar job to do next week if I take the plunge and purchase my first plane. Only a 6 hour flight for me if I go ahead with it.

Where are you ferrying it from/to?

Tony

Where are you hangaring?

For your information, John at Coominya Flight Training (YBCM) operates a few Lightwings for flight training and private hire. He taught me to fly and he is very knowledgeable about the Lightwings.