Television content producer - New to the site

jamesgyore

Good morning everyone,

I'm new to the site.

I'm rather the odd one out, as I'm a television content producer, not a pilot... Yet.

I have an insane idea. To document my flight instruction and first solo, while I construct an ultralight aircraft in my garage. It might make a great TV show, and promote recreational aviation in Australia.

In fact, I'll be constructing two aircraft. The second is for the purpose of recording air-to-air and air-to-ground video footage.

I've spent the last few weeks humming and harring over aircraft designs and have found it difficult to find suppliers of materials, particularly wood.

My desk is littered with printed plans for the aluminium affordaplane and the wooden Jonowski J-1b.

I've lost track of how many plastic kit planes I've looked at from former communist countries. These in particular are awesome planes, but the cost of them is just ridiculous. Who would have figured that these former commies would become such greedy capitalists!

A high winged pusher would be the ideal airborne video camera platform, so I'm more inclined to build the J-1b.

Mind you, the mini imp has not escaped my attention. I have been using the subtle approach with my partner, slowly introducing the idea that a new O-200 engine at about 25K US dollars is not unreasonable and that the mini imp model C would be the ideal "other car". Like most guys, I want the ferrari, but will ultimately have to settle for the "practical" and "affordable" wagon. Gee, I hope I can at least get the optional sports trim package.

I look forward to reading past posts of members and learning a thing or two from you all.

For those interested, I'd be delighted in sharing my progress with this documentary project.

Regards,

James.

Welcome James,