Wire V's Strus Braced

Guest Howard Hughes

Guest Howard Hughes

I see Harv has what sounds like a nice (read affordable) wire braced aircraft for sale in the classified section. As a complete newbie can anyone give me some pointers on the difference between strut and wire braced? What are the advantages/dis-advantages? What to look for when purchasing? What are the maintenance implications with wire braced? What happens if a wire breaks in flight? Are the remaining wires sufficient to carry loads, etc?

Cheers,

Mark (aka HH).

PS: I have fown a drifter before and it was the best stand alone hours flying I have ever done, could see myself getting out on a nice Sunday morning!

Wire braced aircraft are strong enough if the cables don't have corrosion, and are correctly swaged? at the ends. They are a bit more draggy but fly well at lower speeds with less power as they are also lighter.

I've only ever flown the SB version which in every case, had the more powerful Rotax 582 and needed a good prop to fly well with 2 people.

. They are a really pleasant plane to fly with a feel of being right out in the air, like few others have. Nev

I fly both, but find the WB seems to be lighter on the controls and just doesnt seem to have the heavy feeling that the SB has, could just be me I suppose. As stated as long as you maintain the wires you shouldnt have any problems. The only time I have had to tension the wires in the last two years was when I took the wings off. even then its not a huge job to do. Robert

I fly both, but find the WB seems to be lighter on the controls and just doesnt seem to have the heavy feeling that the SB has, could just be me I suppose.

Nah, it's true, the WB's are much lighter in the control and certainly feels that way flying too. Your's is actually a really pleasant aeroplane to fly to Rob.

They are both lots of fun though! 003_cheezy_grin.gif.c5a94fc2937f61b556d8146a1bc97ef8.gif