How much fun is this!?

2tonne

Hi all,

I am new to this. I have had two TIFs - 1 in a Cessna 172 at Essendon and the second in a Jabiru 160 out of Lilydale. Both flights were great and I am hooked.

Tough choice but have decided to keep going with the Jabiru at Lilydale. Something about flying out of a grass strip around the Yarra Valley is pretty appealing. Back for my first real lesson soon - can't wait.

2t

• Like 3
  • Agree 2

Hi daddy-jake, I will keep you posted on how things go. I hadn't even heard of a recreactional pilot certificate until a couple of months ago - glad I discovered it though.

• 2 weeks later...

My first 'real' lesson today, but think I may have discovered one of the frustrations of learning to fly - clouds below 1000 ft and raining. So, no flying. Did do a full walkaround pre-flight testing fuel etc and some more cockpit familiarisation, so was still very interesting.

• Like 3

Shame about the weather, but great you did the familiarisation and pre-flight checks. Im learning like yourself, but can definitely see why the stuff you do on the ground is so vital to make sure you get off the ground safely. Wish you all the best with it!

*sigh* another tragic. Didn't anyone warn you how addictive flying is? Next you'll be wanting your own airplane. Then it degenerates to wanting an runway on a property or a house at an airpark. STOP, get out while you still can!

take my advice, I'm a stage 2 addict.

BTW, don't tell your friends how much fun it is, they'll think you're mad...and tell you so, repeatedly.

• Like 2
  • Agree 3

Shame about the weather, but great you did the familiarisation and pre-flight checks. Im learning like yourself, but can definitely see why the stuff you do on the ground is so vital to make sure you get off the ground safely. Wish you all the best with it!