Tailwheel Skyfox CA25 too easy?

Hi

My plan is to eventually learn basic aerobatics in a Chipmunk and/or Decathlon but

considering how expensive the training is at YPJT I think I'll have to first learn how to

fly a RAAUS taildragger and then switch to GA later.

Could someone with more experience please advise if the CA25 is a challenging

enough aircraft to learn the basics.

The reason I ask is that I spend some hours flying the nosewheel Gazelle

and back then thought I was a good pilot but after switching to a Texan I realised

the Gazelle was just so easy to handle (and slow) it gave me a false idea of my skills.

PS: RA vs GA is not an issue, I'm flying both and got about 80h as GA PIC and 50h as RA PIC

Thanks!

• Replies 67
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest Maj Millard

DF, there are some differences of opinion as to the degree of difficulties involved with handling a Skyfox. There have been many scared off by them , and there has been a reasonable trail of damage left over the years. I personally have flown many different taildraggers, and I would rate the Skyfox as one which is probably fine in experienced hands, but because they are lively they can be a trap waiting to happen to the uninitiated. What I am trying to say is that they are a real taildragger, and adequet skills are required.

To be fair, many of the runway excursions have been the results of problems associated with the bungees used for shock absorption, so if you plan to strap one on , make sure that aspect has already been sorted ............Maj...

Denny.

I owned and flew a Skyfox tail-dragger for a number of years and have about 300 hours on type.

I have also flown a number of Gazelles.

The two are completely different animals near and on the ground.