Always ask

Jabiru Phil

ALWAYS ASK, NEVER ASSUME !!

His request approved, the CNN News photographer quickly used a cell phone to call the local airport to charter a flight.

He was told a twin-engine plane would be waiting for him at the airport.

Arriving at the airfield, he spotted a plane warming up outside a hanger.

He jumped in with his bag, slammed the door shut, and shouted, 'Let's go'.

The pilot taxied out, swung the plane into the wind and took off.

Once in the air, the photographer instructed the pilot, 'Fly over the valley and

make low passes so I can take pictures of the fires on the hillsides.'

'Why?' asked the pilot.

'Because I'm a photographer for CNN' , he responded, 'and I need to get some close up shots.'

The pilot was strangely silent for a moment, finally he stammered, 'So, what you're telling me, is . . . You're NOT my flight instructor?'

• Like 1
  • Haha 8

The oldies are the bestest Phil. . . . ! ! !

Fortunately for the passenger, IF the pilot was sitting in an energised Twinnididdle, it would be reasonably safe to assume that he COULD well have learned to aviate in something a lttle less technoriffic, and would therefore have SOME idea of how not to die today.

Anyway, no good dissecting the joke, as if we do, it is less amusing.

Alan Basket ( Casey airfield Berwick) told me a similar one in 1973 about a CFA fire spotter bloke who jumped into a C-150 whilst the instructor had run off to take a quick wee. . . . this was to emphasise the "CHECK FIRST - DON'T ASSUME ANYTHING" philosophy too.

This was following a solo recheck flight the day before, where I had ASSUMED that Alan would have stowed his seatbelt properly before shutting his door. . . , and I failed to check. . . . I called a mayday as I thought that I was being shot at from the ground with some kind of machine gun when in fact it was the seat belt buckle banging on the side of the fuselage. . . . . ( ! )