Flights over water

Hi Guys

After a little help. I'm studying for my pre-solo test, I have a list of things to study and one of them is flights over water. I can't find anything in my BAK book, I also can't find anything in Operations manual {issues 7}

I have found something on the casa website. {this is it below}

"Legislation for overwater flights other than for balloons and gliders will be changed to 25 nm from land providing the aircraft carries an Emergency Locator Transmitter (ELT), life jackets, and giving lodgement of a SARTIME. Requirements for crossing Bass Straight will not be limited to 25 nm from land to allow greater pilot discretion of the route with due regard to safe passage clear of inclement weather."

Is this it? is there any more? Or does anyone know where this stuff is in my two books?

Cheers

Rick

CAO 95.55 covers this for recreational aircraft. You will find that at the end of the ops manual.

The link is http://www.comlaw.gov.au/Details/F2011L00617

The relevant paragraphs are below.

7.1© subject to paragraph 7.2, the aeroplane must not be flown over a body of water at a horizontal distance from a suitable landing area of more than:

(i) the distance (not greater than 25 nautical miles) that the aeroplane can glide in case of engine failure; or

(ii) 25 nautical miles — if each occupant is wearing a life jacket and the aircraft carries a serviceable radiocommunication system and the equipment referred to in subparagraph 3.2 (a) or (b);

3.2 (a) an approved ELT, or an approved portable ELT, as defined in regulation 252A of CAR 1988; or

(b) a personal locator beacon that has been approved by CASA for use with such an aeroplane.

7.2 In spite of the limit of 25 nautical miles mentioned in subparagraph 7.1 ©, an aeroplane to which that limit would otherwise apply may be flown between Tasmania and mainland Australia, in either direction, by a longer route if taking advantage of safer weather conditions.

Guest Andys@coffs