stall practice: what can go wrong?

Following on from a recent accident, I'm posting this new thread to avoid direct speculation on the cause of the accident. As a low-hours pilot, I regularly do stall practice in a jab, and it's always been a benign event. Apart from W&B issues, and assuming pre-stall checks have been done, what could go wrong with this procedure, in a jab or any other aircraft in this category?

• Like 2

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Instead of answering this question or by the forum of which you may get some out of left field answers or confusion. You have also stated you are low hours so it may be best to go see a CFI in GA and get some stall spin training. That will raise the blood pressure at first, then ask your question face to face with the CFI.

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

Instead of answering this question or by the forum of which you may get some out of left field answers or confusion. You have also stated you are low hours so it may be best to go see a CFI in GA and get some stall spin training. That will raise the blood pressure at first, then ask your question face to face with the CFI.

not a bad idea.

Question for an experienced aerobatic pilot:

In a fully developed flat-spin (not a nose-down spin) wouldn't a sharp, strong burst of power (i.e. prop-blast) with full down elevator, counter-rotation full rudder, and neutral aileron, bring about significant nose-down pitch for recovery; much like the tail parachute does in certification testing?

I've done lots of spin practice in my early gliding years, and happily there were no flat-spins to deal with, and recovery was uneventful. Just as well, as there was no tail parachute, nor motor!

Flying radio controlled model aircraft (powered), I've used throttle to assist flat-spin recovery for downward pitch, although the direction of the flat-spin plus engine torque made one direction's recovery quicker than the other.