RA FI rating

DarkSarcasm

Hi all,

I've signed up to do an RA FI rating starting in the second week of Dec.

I'm keen to do it but I'm also a bit nervous about it. I've no idea if I'd be a good teacher or absolutely terrible at it. Not to mention, I don't really feel like I've been flying long enough to teach others how to fly. I mean, I've only been flying for about 2.5 years, is that enough experience? It seems like to teach you should have 10 years or more.

I guess I'm just looking for reassurance from the FIs out there - did you feel like this before doing your rating?

How many hours have you got up now? Have done any long distance flying since you qualified?

I have about 120 or so TT (GA and RA). I've done a few navs since I got my PPL but nothing seriously long distance (my finances are still trying to catch up from the training navs).

Go for it Darky, you will find it very rewarding...!

I completed my FI rating last month and I'm a low time pilot of approx 220 hrs TT

My CFI has been kind to me and given me 10 hrs of training students already and it has been extremely satisfying. One of the students I've taken from never flown before up to take offs and good medium turns and she is really enjoying it , so it is all great so far.

All this from the back seat of a Drifter........it just can't be more fun than that..!

cheers

JimG

• Like 1

Don't put ideas into her head Jim. I can just imaging sitting in the front seat and making a mistake and getting a mouthful, and making the same mistake again and seeing the screen turn red with dimming eyesight and hearing the sound of the 357 Magnum. Now I know why the shooting training.

• Like 1

"I guess I'm just looking for reassurance from the FIs out there - did you feel like this before doing your rating?"

No - if you think you need more experience you are probably correct.

Good luck in any case.

Jim you are flying with Kev in Gatton?He is a Good flight instructor.