Flat spin recovery in RA Aircraft

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no expert, but it would depend highly on what type of aircraft I would think! 022_wink.gif.2137519eeebfc3acb3315da062b6b1c1.gif

We aren't allowed to Spin RAA aircraft, so intentionally, it's a no go zone!

The answer is - maybe yes and no. If you have the skills, if the aircraft itself can get into a flat spin, and if the aircraft is able to recover, and if the aircraft is strong enough not to fall apart.....then yes!

That sort of thing is something to go and get proper instruction in a GA aerobatic aircraft to eperience. You are unlikely to end up in a flat spin unless by purpose (ie training or competition) or you have seriously done most of the spin recovery actions wrong (added power, held opposite aileron etc).

Is it possible to recover from a flat spin in an RA aircraft?

Forgetting about the pilot!.. Can that question be answered correctly without knowing the type of aircraft?

Happened a long time ago but I remember the case of an experienced CFI in the Townsville area, getting into a flat spin in a GoldWing, at around 2500 feet... Couldn`t get it out... Hit the ground fairly hard... Survived but was injured.

images.jpg.b2bac51148c56e818b808ef514ca7c19.jpg

Frank.

Guest extralite

Not sure many Rec aircraft would spin at all without the input of full pro-spin controls? Generally not much weight at wingtips, large vertical fins etc..haven't checked but surely hands off they would all pop out of a spin within a couple of rotations?

Someone please correct me if I`m wrong!

If the aircraft is correctly ballanced, in a stall, it should drop the nose by itself.

The aircraft shouldn`t get into a flat spin unless the centre of gravity ( CoG ) is so far back that the aircraft won`t drop the nose.

In my Drifter I can stall it, hold the stick all the way back and it will drop the nose!