forward slipped in

Guest floatHigh

Guest floatHigh

Hi all, I discovered this forum (somehow) while looking for some additional information on side-slipping/forward-slipping and with reference to strong gusty crosswinds.

In the theory it didn't sound that hard, but nothing was mentioned about slipping in VERY gusty conditions as well! Another thread for this one I guess.

Anyway, I got into flying in recent months after having had Lymphoma (NHL) some 2 years ago and having this treated and cleared. Made me realize there's more to life than just working too hard.

As a novice I commenced with GA training and had problems getting medical clearance in time for solo flight (Diamond DA20), ..even though I am currently in full-remission.

So I got into the RAA Certificate program and went solo in a SportStar a couple of weeks ago, 018_hug.gif.8f44196246785568c4ba31412287795a.gif ..first ever solo in powered aircraft!

I must mention that years ago and in my early 20's, I soloed gliders, but as some of you might know, these are VERY different machines!

Now just to master these aggressive forward-slips!

Cheers,

William

Guest floatHigh

Thanks Gregg,

Yes, the SportStar is a fun little aircraft!

Student Pilot,

The forwardslip is somewhat similar the sideslip. Quote taken from Wikipedia (free Internet Encyclopedia):

"The forward slip will change the heading of the aircraft away from the down wing, while retaining the original track (path over the ground) of the aircraft.