Getting rated on single seater.. How?

shags_j

So as the title reads. How do you go about getting rated on a single seater. In fact how do you learn to fly the damn thing?

If you want to buy a single seater what is the usual process?

Cheers in advance,

Shags

Get time on something similar if possible. In my case I had built the single seater, so there was nobody to say yay or nay, so I studied as much as I could kept current during the build process and was talking to as many people for advice as I could. Look for any magazine articles about the plane type. If someone else owns the plane they will have a big say. Don't fly if you are not 100% happy with your abilities and don't be overconfident. Preferably fly where there is plenty of runway and little traffic. Finally when you do it just enjoy it. First flight of a single seater is much the same as first solo.

• Like 1
  • Agree 1

Shags,

While not completely the same, for me flying a single seat glider for the first time was much the same as said above. Be confident on something similar, know as much as humanly possible before the flight and then just go do it. Fun times.

• Like 1

I'll add to Yenn's advice by suggesting you also get some time in different aircraft, particularly if you have been flying the same type for a while (eg Jabiru's or other training aircraft). When I converted into the Cassutt Racer, a high performance single seat GA aircraft, my insurer's insisted I do some work in a Pitts Special. The work in the Pitt's Special did nothing to prepare me other than put me in an aircraft I was unfamiliar with. My thoughts and techniques were challenged, which is not a bad thing when converting to a new aircraft. As it turned, out my gliding experience and speed attitude control put me in a good position to convert to the Cassutt Racer. I had none of the trouble some others had when they converted straight from draggy Cessna's to the Racer. Some thoughts anyway.

Cheers

Steve

• Helpful 2