Introduction

peter51

Hi all,

I have flown a few aircraft in RAA category - savanah, sling and foxbat - handling qualities of the foxbat and sling were very good.

I currently fly the 737-800 and I am an ex military helo pilot/ instructor. I still fly GA as an instructor with air force cadets and I thoroughly enjoy flying light aircraft.

Looking to build a STOL aircraft soon for extended bush trips - hope to fly the AAK hornet ASAP. I have visited the factory at Taree several years ago ago and was very impressed with the engineering of this aircraft - unforetuneatly I still had 3 kids on my hands at that time - they have now flown the coop.

I will need some sage advice and so I have joined this forum for that purpose.

Peter

Welcome aboard - interested that you found the handling qualities of the Foxbat & Sling to be good but not the Savannah? I am planning to build a Savannah at some stage, and they are very popular, both on Oz & NZ. Any comments you might care to make?

Hello peter51

Nice to see commercial pilots here ........ where else could you rather be ?

I think the savanah is a great utility go anywhere beast ..... with your experience you probably need a ......... (fill in blank please)

More importantly welcome and we are all ears for impart of knowledge or whatever you choose

Thanks for the welcome. The Savanah is a great aircraft - Control harmony in the other 2 just felt better for me - particularly the Foxbat - highly subjective of course. Tail volume does look a little light on in the Savanah - compared to AAK hornet for example - which I have not flown yet.

I have a friend with a Savanah and he can really put it on the spot.

My first question about operating in remote areas on MOGAS is about to be posted