A few questions from an airline pilot thinking about joining the RA ranks

Hi all,

I'm a current airline pilot thinking about joining the RA ranks and have the following questions.

1. Has anyone done any training or flown at Freeflying / Adventure Flights at Redcliffe, Redcliffe Flight Training or Freeflying Caloundra? If so any comments good or bad about the schools and the aircraft types used?

2. Reading the RA-AUS ops manual because I have prior flying hours I only need 5 hours in RA aircraft or GA aircraft that could be RA registered. So if I was to do 5 hours in a Tecnam on the VH register (both Redcliffe Aeroclub and Redcliffe Flight training have Tecnam's VH registered) what additional training would I need to qualify for the RA pilot certificate?

3. Would all my ATPL privileges ie pax carrying, cross country etc automatically carry over to the RA pilot certificate?

4. I hold an expired Grade 2 instructor rating, with around 800 hours as an instructor mostly in C152's and PA38's. I've also held CASA check and training approval on turboprops and currently a training captain on jets. What training would be required to gain an RA Instructor rating?

5. Any recommendations for other schools on the north side of Brisbane or the Sunshine Coast?

Thanks in advance

GAFA

2. None really... I understand there is a lot of discretion for the CFI (RAA) for a person with experience. If they are of the opinion that you meet the standard and sign you off... then you are signed off.

3. See above, however some specific endorsements will need to be represented by actual RAA training: Low Performance and Low Level for example.

Don't know RE 1, 4 and 5.

Ex GA, did my 5 hours in a Gazelle. The only endorsement I had to achieve was the low performance. All my other endorsments were carried straight over, including Pax, CSU, Retract, Low Level (Ex Ag 1), Tail Wheel, Nose Wheel, Cross Country, Radio and because I had my CPL, was not required to do the Human Factors section.