Should we add banjo music?

shafs64

Guest Maj Millard

Actually the guy didn't do too bad...he didn't kill himself, and the landing in that aircraft type, wasn't that bad really. The Eipper MX was one of the first ULs I ever laid eyes on, back about 1982. I pretty quickly lost interest in flying one once I studied the control set up. ( I had less than 100 hrs at the time).. No ailerons, small spoilers on top of wings if you wanted to hook them up...appears he didn't have them operating.

The only control working in the normal sense was the elevator, side movements of the side-mounted stick operates the rudder !, and if the spoilers are hooked up, they are operated by the rudder pedals, which also gave you the option of deploying both together for a rapid descend, or to kill lift on both wings right after landing.

Several of my friends flew the ring off MXs in California when I flew there, including one couple both well into their high 70s, who shared the one aircraft. Most flew them without the spoilers hooked up, as one could create good aileron effect with active use of the rudder alone, ( with the stick operating in the normal aileron direction)... Are you following?......there will be an exam !..

These machines were powered with the single ignition, single plug per cyl, pull start Rotax 337. If the wind had come up while an MX was up, we would generally walk out to the runway to assist them, by grabbing the wings right after landing. With all the dihedral in those wings it didn't take much to put a wing in the dirt.

There was also a very early weight-shift model where the pilot sat in a sling seat, and shifted weight to maintain control. Didn't see too many of them around.