Push Pull Cables

I am new to this and would like to understand the strength dynamics of these cables. I see them used in Jabs but wonder how strong they are compared.to cables I. Tension.

They wouldn't be stronger for the same size. With ordinary cables they only work in tension, so therefore you need two cables and the necessary hardware. A flexdrive or Bowden type cable is better at negotiating bends and the main disadvantage is the lubrication requirements and possibly weight.

Actually there are numerous disadvantages to using these type of cable.

First off yes, they are technically a cable, so work best in tension.

This is where they work well in being able to go around corners simply without pulleys, guides and fairleads, and pull on a control surface.

However, ALL control systems work on the concept of moving something at one point relative to a fixed point (usually the airframe), to transmit motion to another point (a moving surface) relative to a second FIXED point.

The fixed points on a Flexdrive control system, are the ends of the outer housing.

The outer housing needs to be firmly attached to the primary structure without any body flex, although this could also be said for all other control systems

Another problem is that the cable within is not under tension at a neutral position, and must change from a tension load to a compressive load in use.

The clearances allowing the cable to move within the outer housing must be taken up, before any continuation of movement between tension and compression can begin.

This 'taken up' is called hysteresis, which is a technical term for 'slop'.

The minimum slop occurs when the cable is dead straight (sort of, *explained later), every bend added after that induces a small amount of slop, the more bends, the more slop.

Some designers try to get around this problem by pushing the neutral point away from the centre of travel.

How?