Rotax lifters worn

Lyndon

Gday . This is just an initial observation. I've pulled a couple of lifters and they are shot. I've had a quick look at the cam through the crankcase and it looks fine. This is contrary to what I should see.

Rotax 912 with 1800 hrs.

I have no experience with these engines. I'm hoping to get another 1000 hrs out it.

Will it respond well with just lifters ???.

I'm just freshening up the top end with new orings. Everything is clean and the engine looks perfect.

Thanks Lyndon

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

One of the reasons to cut open the filter at each oil change is to pick this sort of thing up. Metal through your engine can damage it. Hopefully the filter got the lot. I presume the face contacting the cam is your concern. This is a highly loaded area. Has the correct oil always been used? Sit down when you get the price. Nev

It has had the correct oil. But I'm my opinion its not up to scratch. Porsche have a similar problem and it's the oil. What is good for the cat and emissions is not good for their valve train. Anyway when I say they are shot I mean the case hardening is just on the way out. Eg you would never put them back in. My concern is the cam looks good but lifters don't.

Thanks Lyndon

Er?................Rotax 912 80hp?............... I thought that they had a life of 1800hrs?.................quote: "This is contrary to what I should see".......I think that this exactly what you would expect to see....