VW aero Engine Help needed with timing!

Spriteah

Hi all,

I have been trying to help a fellow flyer with a VW engine. I am having trouble getting the baby to start. Looking for ideas or advice.

It's a VW aero conversions.

Magneto ignition that has been re-timed. It's a Bendix dual mag D4RN 2021. Has been timed to the K mark and E gap at R which I think is 8 deg BTDC. It has an impulse system to delay 20 Deg to assist with starting.

When I check timing on the engine I can adjust it to open points at 8 Degrees BTDC. However the motor will not start. I get the occasional fire but just wont turn over.

Any ideas? Does the timing sound correct? Any advice from some that have experience with the VW's or Magneto would be greatly appreciated.

Jim Tatlock.

I have no experience withthat setup, but would suggest that it may be the impulse coupling confusing the issue. It prevents the spark occuring at whatever before TDC and then lets it go at around TDC. Try turning past the TDC position to get the impulse coupling to let go, then turn back to just before you want the firing point and you may be able to find when it fires and adjust the position.

There is nothing unusual about a VW engine regards timing. If the impulse is operating it will retard it at start and very low rpm, then it goes fixed timing which should be somewhere around 28 degrees before TDC. This is the condition you adjust it at. ie Non impulse with the weights out as the motor runs not as it starts. You may refine that figure (28degrees) but that is what the 0-200 runs at and it is a typical figure for that style of engine. Nev

• Agree 1

no one uses magnetos in cars

Wish you'd told me that before I replaced the distributer on my 1937 Riley Kestrel with a magneto. Nevertheless, despite my lack of knowledge, it worked very well.

Hi all,I have been trying to help a fellow flyer with a VW engine. I am having trouble getting the baby to start. Looking for ideas or advice.