Class D - Metro vs Regional

Anybody have much experience with flying into both a metro class D airport (e.g. Bankstown) and a regional class D airport (e.g. Albury)? Was wondering what are the operational differences between the two?

I recently visited Albury ATC tower and was a little surprised by the differences in procedure (im a student pilot). For example, at albury you must explicitly "request clearance" to enter/depart the class D. At bankstown and i think other metro class d airports the requirement is just to establish two-way comms. Also noted that at albury VFR pilots departing into class G were giving a departure report (unlike metro D) when established on outbound track giving altitude and track info.

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have flown lots out of both (YPPF,YBAS,YBRM,YSBK) and as you mentioned there are "local" style "rules". I tend to stick to the AIP which does not differentiate between the old GAAP and larger class D. I now always offer a departure report (was never done through training, and was unaware it was required until work) and most times they will accept it but the "metro D" guys usually sound a bit surprised, and with the others sometimes not requesting it when super busy. Not sure if that's what's meant to happen but, if they have you sighted in VMC I suppose it's ok.

I haven't flown VFR into a "metro" D since training but the D aerodromes don't require clearance via a reporting point and a radial/bearing and DME/GNSS or miles used instead, if equiped and able.

Unsure if that would be OK in town.

IFR at both just planned as per the AIP and should be easy enough. Direct once airborne might be easier outside of the metro areas depending on identification.