How different are glider landings to convention powered aircraft?

I started learning how to glide. I've done almost 20 flights now in a sailplane, they generally have a nose wheel, a wheel in the middle, and a tailwheel. How different is it for a pilot to land one of these aircraft to say a convention powered aircraft with or without a tailwheel?

I don't know what  you mean with the wheels, but analyse it. You have a very efficient high aspect wing that won't stop flying without using spoilers and IF you do a min radius turn at slow speed  the inside one may get too slow. You don't have an engine to go around with and if your tug has an engine failure at 50 ft you have a job to do. ALL pilots should do some. Nev

• Like 2

I agree with Nev. Having been a glider pilot for 40 years before flying power, I have to say that gliders are easier to land than the Jabiru. They have big airbrakes without which landing would be very difficult. With those big airbrakes, landing is easier.

Like any tailwheel plane. they can take off again if flown on too fast. So the technique is to get the wheels a foot off the surface and try to keep it there as it slows down. You land by trying not to.

This is exactly the same as a trike Jabiru. At this time, you are looking well ahead and using small smooth stick movements, gradually feeding in more elevator up as the plane slows.

Its fun learning, and remember that no good pilots take landing for granted. They always try for a "greaser " but rarely achieve a perfect one.

But as Nev says, you can't do a "go around" with a glider!

Edited by Bruce Tuncks