Aviation in Australia, Sourcing Parts

Good morning,

I've been working on my own aircraft for a couple of years now and designing various parts and aircraft. i have found the road to be relatively difficult initially trying to source parts for aircraft builds/homebuilt etc. especially when compared to USA. Admittedly, everything is available but i have found more often than not, specialized items will need to be sourced from the USA. I do understand aviation in Australia doesn't have the following like it does over there, but it does get me wondering a few things.

-What are some of the biggest parts or materials hurtles you have had

-what would you like to see more readily available?

-any particular material/parts you were unable to source?

Cheers

Rob

4 minutes ago, turboplanner said:

What’s wrong with buying from the US when they have high volume fresh stock, lower pricing, faster delivery.

During my build i sourced parts from us but the freight was sometimes twice as cost of part recently purchased a psru freight was 150 more than cost of part i have purchased from czech and ukraine freight was very modest

• Informative 1

26 minutes ago, gareth lacey said:

During my build i sourced parts from us but the freight was sometimes twice as cost of part recently purchased a psru freight was 150 more than cost of part i have purchased from czech and ukraine freight was very modest

The secret is, like Australia, doing the work of researching the market. I'll admit it can be a long haul, but you'll be able to find suppliers who sell below full retain and don't mess around with price and quality. Those are gold.

Edited by turboplanner

Freight never used to be terrible a few years back, but the prices have definitely been inflated and is ridiculous for the most part. There are a few suppliers here and there that are reasonable for smaller things, but the question still needs to be asked, what would we want to see more of available in Australia?

• Like 1