New User. Darwin NT

RATT

Hi All.

I'm based in Darwin and looking to purchase a Jabiru 230. I work in Remote communities across the top end.

Will be looking to fly out most weeks (weather permitting)

Not totally set on the Jabiru although it's what I have been learning in.

Open to suggestions but really looking for reliability, range, cross wind capability and carrying capacity.

Thanks.

Marty.

Welcome Marty 012_thumb_up.gif.cb3bc51429685855e5e23c55d661406e.gif Keep an eye out for old Koreela he is a fellow forumite who hails from nsw but is currently working in the territory. I can't really help you with aircraft selection as I'm not really an expert:blush:, having said that the jabs seem to have a good reputation for a nice airframe but maybe flying remotely it might be worth the extra dollars to put a Rotax up the front? (That is just my opinion and I don't mean any offence to jab)

Anyway enjoy the forum we range from crazy to insane and I'm sure you will enjoy it

• Like 1

Marty, I'd normally caution against taking too much notice of SDQDI- but this time the cheeky bugger is bang on. Sounds like you wouldn't get a better airframe than the J 230, and adding a CAMit engine should make it a very reliable machine.

Where else can you get a good solid, safe plastic aeroplane that's undergone mobs of testing - and is locally made and still heaps cheaper than the imports?

I'd love to see a STOL version of the Jab- maybe based on the J170 with a CAMit 6 and no front wheel. Then again, that would require a whole new round of development, particularly of the empennage.

The "horror stories" about Jab engine are a concern, but the vast majority have had a good run. Maybe the engine is best described as "delicate" and in need of thoughtful management. I'm quite happy with mine.

Flying over the top end at jet altitude is amazing. I'd love to get a closer look.

• Like 1