Airsick Pax

DarkSarcasm

Hi all,

I'm looking for tips about how to deal with airsick pax and, mainly, try to prevent it or help them get used to it. My boyfriend gets airsick, which is kind of unfortunate since I'm a pilot, and while he's keen to come flying, I always feel terrible (and nervous for the fate of me having to clean the aircraft) when he starts feeling airsick partway through the flight. He's reluctant to try airsickness pills in case they make it worse.

Does anyone have tips about how to deal with, or preferably, prevent airsickness? I always carry sick bags, and have air vents open and try to fly smoothly etc, but if anyone has tips, I'd welcome them.

are particularly fond of this boyfriend?

but seriously the only thing I can think of is very short flights in perfect weather and then gradually increasing the duration. I went through a stage during nav lessons where I would start to feel a bit off, I think due to looking down at maps, I found that ginger tablets provided some relief without side effects.

I know the problem well, having been airsick myself on many occassions years ago. You seem to be doing everything right, so the only other suggestion would be to keep your flights fairly short and land again well before he becomes airsick. Tell him in advance that the flight will only be five or ten minutes then land and have a break or leave it until another day. Gradually build up the time and you will find that he will overcome the problem. Do not fly UNTIL he feels sick but always land before he gets the feeling.

It may take some time but it will pay off. There are tablets that can help without making him feel worse but not having had to use them now for many years they would no doubt have changed. I'm sure there are others on this site who can help you with good remedies.

Alan Marriette.

Darky,