25nm without crosscountry........could this be increased safely?

M61A1

Just looking for other people ideas and opinions, after some discussion with a work colleague about the 25 NM limit for those us who don't have Nav under our belts.

I'm not sure just how much, if at all the nav requirements have changed since I became a member of the AUF around 1996 (I don't have any of the original requirements, Iknow what the current ones are).......so do you think we could push out a bit to maybe 50 or 100NM.

Personally, I think it would be difficult to get lost or suffer fuel exhaustion within 100NM, but I'm a low hr pilot. Maybe I'm not representative of other pilots, I dunno, so what do we think and why?

I'm not proposing it, just asking if others can see problems or benefits that I can't.

• Replies 97
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Id say not wise...if you get sick of flying in circles, I'd just get a NAV qualification asap!!

I want to know why.......not wise that is.

In my opinion do the Nav requirements and you will enjoy Xcountry flying more.

Do it properly and you will enjoy how accurate you can fly and by all means use the electonic aids available currently to confirm your accuracy - the result will make you feel more confident and gain more pleasure from the flight.

Remember non TSOed nav aids are not a primary nav aides - VFR is still VFR.

FrankM

I assume the limit was put in place for learners and therefore should remain in familiar territory so that you will know where you are and can find your way safely back to the airfield. or maybe so you stay within view / radio range of your CFI??

100NM is a fair way to be just flying with no actual destination in mind

I have wondered the same thing... Mostly because there are no other airports within 25 NM of my home one! I always wanted to visit that one airport 27 NM away!