The Bexmotor lives on

fly_tornado

Bex's is not a piston ported twostroke, his has poppet valve (s) . The one shown going into the machining centre had no cylinder head, but what appeared to be ports in the cylinder. That's what it looked like to me anyway...Personally I'd rather see a sleeve valve jobbie

• Informative 1

Having worked extensively on a two-cylinder, opposed-piston diesel 2-stroke, specifically designed to drop into Jabiru-powered drones, (so same package size), I believe I have some genuine experience. We got it to running stage, but it needed more development and the funds ran out. This was not a back-yard lash-up, we had the full resources of Phil Ainsworth's Technology Park machining facility behind us - capable of producing everything including the injector pump!.

The Deutz DZ710 was a successful opposed-piston aero engine, of 2700 hp capability, and weighing 1450 kgs. That weight provides a hp/lb figure of .84 - which is NOT shabby. A Lycoming 0320-D says .67 hp/lb, a Jab 2200 says..58 HOWEVER: all of those figures are not necessarily directly comparable, because in the Jab case it is 'installed' (or Ramp) weight (actually, what it weighs dry but ready-to fly), and we don't know the configuration for either the Lycoming or the Deutz.

There are several problems for a piston-ported 2-stroke horizontally-opposed diesel engine. The first of these is that it requires forced induction in order to scavenge the combustion area until at running revolutions. The D710 had forced induction. The next, is the need for heater plugs unless the c/r is very high indeed - requiring massive (and heavy) strength. The third, is (in small-capacity engines), the physical area required for heat transfer from the very compact size of the combustion area.