Suggestions for commuting to Melbourne

Hi folks, I'm an RAA licensed pilot, flying a Jabiru J230. 

I live in north east Victoria (Mount Beauty), and am looking into convenient ways to commute to Melbourne. At this point in time, avoiding airspace is a necessity.

Ideally I'd land somewhere within walking distance of a train station to get into the CBD, then out from there as needs be. It would be possible to leave a car at an airstrip somewhere, but ideally I'd rather not - I'm open to either idea.

For my thinking, Lilydale/Coldstream is one option (and having family around Greensborough/Hurstbridge is a bonus), but Riddells Creek also look tempting, with only a 2.5 hike to the train station. Thoughts or other suggestions?

• Informative 1

Matt, I suppose you'd go for Riddells Creek over Penfield since at the latter you'd need to get into Sunbury before getting a train into the city. But if you did choose the standby-car option, YPEN would have its attractions, no? Presumably you'll be able to pick your days to do the 'commute'.

Anyway, it must be great living and flying at YMBT.

Edited by Garfly
  • Like 1

Tyabb could be another option ,it's only 1km to the station, but not sure about regular Public transport there.

Leaving a car somewhere is going to be the quickest option though as getting from the airfield to a metro train station is going to add a fair bit of time.

• Like 1

Cheers folks.

Garfly - yup, Riddells wins wrt distance to a train, though to your point, I don't know a lot of these strips, so haven't really assessed suitability (wet weather ops, can leave the plane tied down for a couple of days, etc). YMBT is a wonderful place to live. Driving the Hume to Melbourne gets old fast, though - hence figuring out the flying options.

Ross, Tyabb does sound good. My initial reaction was that it's a ways out of Melbourne, but then again, the other options I've tabled are no closer, really.

• Informative 1

19 minutes ago, Garfly said: