Jabiru experience

Spooks

I've no experience of them but I have heard of a few issues with the 2200 engine.

The title of this thread was something I heard last week at the airfield from a chap offering advice on a first aircraft purchase (not to me, to another chap!). I had hoped to ask him what was so bad/ what his experience was but he'd buggered off by the time I'd finished my lesson.

So I was just wondering if they did have a bad rep beyond the known engine issues? Personally I think they look quite good as an affordable first purchase!

• Replies 107
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

You will have to PM Ian (Admin) to do that.

Yeah, I for one will PM him and ask him to peez this thread off, haven't we had enough of them, hope others will request it as well from Ian.

Spooks, there's plenty of threads to read on the subject, pop into the Jabiru forum here.

http://www.recreationalflying.com/forums/jabiru.40/

My apologies. I hadn't realised the issues that Jabiru were facing with CASA.

I was mainly curious about the reputation as I'd heard of the few engine problems (which could be at the same rate as rotax, just that it depends on how and whether issues are reported!) but also read that Jabiru are one of the stronger aircraft with regards to the body and go,through thorough stress testing.

Feel free to delete the thread. I'd rather not fan the flames through this if there's a bit of a witch hunt going on!

• Winner 1

Normally this question would start a huge debate...

In light of CASA's massive over reaction discussing the topic could take down our largest manufacturer or our entire governing body, so its best just left alone...

There are many many threads already on this site...use the search function and search something like jabiru engines, jabiru failure, jabiru safety, jabiru through bolts, jabiru temps,