A human factors experience

I'm posting this as it may help someone else.

On Saturday I didn't plan to go flying because I have had a crook back and am not getting much sleep. I have been taking two paracetamol every 4 hours for a few days. I went to the aero club in the morning for a social catch up.

It was a lovely day and I hadn't been flying for two weeks. I felt quite OK and I know that paracetamol is not supposed to affect attention etc. So I decided to go for a short local flight. About ten minutes into the flight I wondered why the plane was sluggish, then realised the flaps were still in takeoff position. The flight went OK but the landing was bad, I felt a bit zoned out. I put the plane in the hangar and went home.

Today I couldn't find the aircraft keys. Went to the hangar and found them in the plane, mags still switched on. Mixture pulled, thats how I shut down. Master switch was off.

I have never done that before in 46 years of flying. Dont think I am getting dementia yet. So it must be lack of sleep, discomfort from the sore back and maybe some effect of the drugs. It was a bad idea to go flying, but I felt quite OK before and after the flight. I will be a bit more cautious about my general alertness in future.

• Like 6
  • Agree 1
  • Helpful 5
  • Informative 7

Checklists, checklists and checklists...thanks for sharing

You know, I didn't want to say, but checklists have saved this forgetful sod's bacon on more than one occasion.... I swear by them.
  • Like 1
  • Agree 1

To get the full value from checklists, you need to use them in more situations than just for flying. Try meals and exercise classes for example.

Everybody in my club who has died, it is because they have failed in some non-flying checklist item. Nobody has died flying.

If I am feeling a bit low, I make a decision before I go to the strip that I will not fly. All it needs then is the ability to stick with that decision. Luckily I can do it, but the temptation is there.