Lithium batteries and non insurance cover

I heard from a friend that caravans and soon boats will only be covered by insurance if there fitting is supported by an approved installation certificate.  This will no doubt affect aircraft that are retro fitted with a lithium battery. Likely due to the increased fires.

Edited by Blueadventures
  • Like 1
  • Informative 2

If you get further info to the source of this I would be interested. Nothing has come through any source at work as yet, but this stuff affects what I do for a living. Most people don’t realise that the cheap diesel heaters for caravans out there are uncertified and if investigated and found to be the cause of a loss would void insurance. Certification costs money which in turn gets passed on in price of unit. EBay sites just shut down and start again when they have problems.

• Like 1
  • Agree 1
  • Informative 1

There has been a doubling in the number of house fires and other domestic-type fires, caused by Lithium-ion batteries here on the Left Coast, over the last 4 years - and it is following a trend that is similar in other States.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2022-09-17/qld-lithium-ion-battery-fires-risk/101428618

The batteries causing the problems are the cheaper Li-ion batteries, as used in scooters, power tools, laptops, phones, tablets, and even torches and shavers.

The fires appear to be mostly related to overcharging, or faulty chargers, or just faulty batteries. There have been fires caused by cheap Li-ion batteries just sitting around unused, simply exploding into flames.

The Lithium Iron Phosphate batteries are much safer, as regards thermal runaway and fire risk, and have been proven to be far less likely to burst into flame, unlike the cheaper domestic Lithium Ion batteries.