It must get easier with time.

I reckon the worst part of learning to fly is landing. Do you get all tense and sweaty between turning Base and bumping down? I do. But it must get easier sometime, surely.

Haven't you watched heaps of videos where the pilot plops the plane onto a runway without seeming to have a second thought about what going on? How about all those WWll fighter and bomber pilots who got their planes back on the ground despite being shot up themselves, or having great chunks of plane missing or flapping in the slipstream. What about those amazing stories like the Gilby Glider, or the Landing in the Hudson River?

I've been driving a car for over forty years. I can't recall doing any conscious thinking about how I am going to get my car into the place I want it, be it a parking place or a a position on the road. Is it practice that lets my sub-conscious take over the mundane task, or is it experience that comes from years of practical driving?

There's a young lady currently operating a meat bomber out of Camden. I wonder when she reached that point where she can relax on final and monitor the plane's flightpath, rather than tensing up and wrestling it down to the ground.

I'm sure that when one passes that point, flying becomes truely recreational.

Old Man Emu

• Like 1

I reckon the worst part of learning to fly is landing. Do you get all tense and sweaty between turning Base and bumping down? I do. But it must get easier sometime, surely. Old Man Emu

Hi OME, I take it you are not flightless anymore.

When I was instructing, one of my students was a doctor and surgeon. He was having a little trouble with his landings.